NORFOLK PUBLIC HOUSES norfolkpubs.co.uk
NORFOLK NORWICH GT. YARMOUTH KINGS LYNN NAME SEARCH PUBLICATIONS LINKS MYSTERY HOME
GREENLAND FISHERY KINGS LYNN Index
28 BRIDGE STREET STONEGATE WARD FULL LICENCE CLOSED c1921
KINGS LYNN PETTY SESSION REGISTERS PS 4/3/1 to 4/3/3 ( August 1872 to 1956 )
HOGGE & SEPPINGS  
T. J. SEPPINGS  
JAMES SEPPINGS
T. J. SEPPINGS  
CHARLES PEARCE of East Dereham ( Cooper Brown )
Licensees :
-
GEORGE HOLDGATE 1822 - 1836
JOHN HUBBARD
according to Pigot
1839
JOSEPH HUBBARD
according to Robson
1839
ROBERT MORRIS
& shipwright
Age 61 in 1851
1845 - 1851
THOMAS LEE 1854 - 1858
REUBEN COX
victualler & waterman
Age 60
1861
SAMUEL COZENS by 10.1861 - 1863
FRANCIS BUNN 1864 - 1865
ROBERT ARNOLD 1868
EDWARD CRACKNELL by 1871
WILLIAM EWAN 25.11.1878
HENRY RUDD CROME
( given in directories to 1916 )
13.11.1899
CHARLES PEARCE ( undated )

Note : Reuben Cox is given as the occupant in the 1861 census, but Samuel Cozens is quoted as being in occupation when Hogge & Seppings took out a 14 year lease from 11.10.1861



The residence of John Akin Major in 1607.

The WATERMANS ARMS in 1736, 1738 & 1745

Described in a pre WWII Dunlop guide as
" The most picturesque of Old Lynn Taverns. "

Referred for Compensation 07.03.1921.
Licence extinct 01.02.1922.

Parts of the building were converted to a Museum by Edward Mil Beloe and opened 6th June 1912.

Seriously damaged by enemy action June 1941.